Mahabharatham · The Peacock Diaries

Duryodhana, the rightful heir

“Duryodhana, you are yet young and foolish. How could you stand aside and watch Draupadi be humiliated in front of the whole court? She is after all, your sister in law. Any disgrace that befalls her befalls the Kuru dynasty!”

“That arrogant woman deserved everything she got! She is no sister in law of mine, Godfather Bheeshma! Her husbands, all five of them, are illegitimate children of Kunti and the Gods. There is no Kuru Dynasty blood in their veins. Don’t you ever address her as my sister in law ever again!”

“And yourself? The pure Kuru lineage was wiped out years ago, Duryodhana.”

“Whatever our bloods may be Godfather, theirs and mine is not the same. My father was born to be heir, and I am his successor!” My uncle may have thought of the Pandavas as his sons, but they have no right to the throne. I will hear no more of this.”

“Yudhisthira will be a just and righteous King, my boy. Can’t you see? Lord Krishna himself is on their side. Then this must be meant to happen, no?”

“No! Just because someone is righteous does not give them right over MY throne. Am I to give up my rights for every righteous man who comes wandering through Hastinapur? Shall I invite them all to preside over my court? And what righteousness do you talk of, Godfather? Have I not been righteous as Crown Prince? Bring me one man in all of our empire that has a complaint against me.”

“Duryodhana, I understand you want revenge, but revenge is against the laws of Karma, my son..”

“I’m sorry, I have not descended from the Gods like your favourite nephews. I am only human. My family and I have been wronged, and I wish to see the Pandavas dead.”

“Please let this fight go. Stop this foolishness at once. You can never win against the Pandavas. I have held you on the day you were born, please do not make me witness your death.”

“I have great respect for your words, Godfather. But if I let Yudhisthira take the throne, I will be sacrificing my own Dharma. And that for me, is worse than death. I will gladly die at the hands of the enemy knowing that I never gave up. And history shall forever tell the story of Duryodhana who fought against all odds for his Kingdom until the very end.”

P.S. History labels Duryodhana a villain. But if you read the Mahabharatha without that presumption, it is very easy to see that Duryodhana could have just been a misunderstood man who lost a great war. I mean no offense to itihasa.

Leave a comment