Mahabharatham · The Peacock Diaries

A husband like Bheema

She has a beautiful smile. When I first saw her I thought to myself,  “Oh, I would do anything to keep her smiling.” But she wasn’t smiling at me then. She was smiling at Arjuna. Besides, her swayamvaram had been structured such that only the greatest archer can win her hand. And I knew that it wasn’t me.

 When Arjuna lifted the bow, I secretly wished he would not hit the target. I prayed to the Gods to spare me the agony of having to live with her as my Sister-in-law. But Destiny had a different plan.
 When my mother commanded us to share the prize that Arjuna had won, I was stung by the irony. But she didn’t take her words back when she learnt that the prize in question was a wife. And it was then that I knew that Destiny had spoken through my mother. My love for Draupadi was no longer forbidden.
 I soon realised that Arjuna was slightly hurt by having to share Draupadi with his brothers, and Yudhisthira, Nakula and Sahadeva were simply adhering to their dharma as husbands. But me! I seized every chance I could to show her my love.

Draupadi soon learnt that she had me wrapped around her delicate finger, and began to turn to me for things she knew the rest may not grant her. Some people suggested that she was manipulating me. But no wife should need to manipulate her husband in order to get what she wants. She need only ask. And I was more than glad to oblige.

 When she fell from the Himalayas, my brothers silently continued the journey to the heavens. But my paradise was in the arms of my beloved. As I refused to accept the harshness of Destiny, Yudhisthira told me that Draupadi fell as she loved one husband more than the others. His words pierced my heart. I knew she loved Arjuna the most all along, but I could not bear to have it said to my face.
 When I myself fell to the foot of the Himalayas, I saw that Draupadi was still alive. I dragged myself to her side. “My lady, are you in pain?  As glad as I am that you are yet alive,why have the Gods not relieved you of your suffering?!”
She smiled weakly and said “They would have, but my soul was persistent. It would not leave without you by my side.”
 I was taken aback by her reply, as I knew they were not true.
 “Why did you let me fall alone, Bheema? Did the others talk you into leaving me behind?”
I shut my eyes in shame. “Yudhisthira said it was your Karma, for your partiality to one husband.” Saying those words hurt more than my broken bones.

“Well then, if this tragic death is the price for loving you, I accept it willingly.”

 Although Mahabharatha does suggest that Bheema loved Draupadi the most, it also suggests that Draupadi loved Arjuna the most. Arjuna, however, is said to favour his other wife (Subadhra) and this makes Bheema the typical Bollywood hero with an unrequited love story and so I just had to give him a fitting Bollywood ending. I mean no offense to our itihasa. 

Leave a comment